Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Steele Here (in English)
23 février 2006

Glenn Gordon Caron

caronGlenn Caron started his carrier as a TV writer at the end of the 70s on Taxi and Breaking Away. The Remington Steele adventure began in 1982: he wrote the first 10 episodes of season 1. Then he quitted and became executive producer, director and writer of Moonlighting, the show that introduced Bruce Willis. Recently, he worked on Now & Again and Medium.

Below is an exerpt from an interview dated September 2002. It mainly concerns Caron's experience on Moonlighting, but he also mentions his collaboration on Remington Steele.
 

Diane: "We know that you wrote for "Remington Steele" before you did "Moonlighting." Did the inspiration come from seeing what you could do, what you thought you could do better with a detective show, or did it come from elsewhere?"

Glenn Caron: "Obviously, I used some of the experience that I gained on Remington Steele. I was with Remington Steele for a very, very short time. I was there really just for the first 10 episodes. And I was there largely because I sort of made it a mission in my life to work with a guy named Bob Butler who directed the pilot for Remington Steele. And really, he sort of came up with the premise for Remington Steele. He'd been carrying it around for years. Michael Gleason developed it for television, but the original idea was actually Bob's. And I really wanted to work with Bob Butler. I got to Remington Steele, worked with Bob. At a certain point, Bob was leaving. I decided to leave. So I really wasn't there as long as a question like that would suggest, although I did contribute a tremendous amount of writing to those first 10 episodes. I think they all, if not all, then most, certainly went through my typewriter at some point. And I still am very fond of my friendship with Pierce. And we were both sort of new to television, so we, you know, he and I developed a relationship. I think I was also really the first writer over there who recognized that he could be funny. In the original conception, I don't think he was thought of as particularly funny. I think Stephanie was thought of as sort of the person who was going to lead the charge of the show, and she's a wonderful actress. But, it just became clear to me hanging around with Pierce, that he had a huge funny bone and so I really tried to write to that."

To read the whole interview, click here.

Publicité
Commentaires
T
I heartily appreciate you for the post you have shared and I really like it. The visitors really owe you for the efforts you make here. Thanks
Publicité